Commentary: Smart Canes

Smart Canes? Are they really a good idea? DO they work? Check this out.

Sandy's View

The following story is about a prototype of a “smart” cane for people who are blind or visually impaired. According to the researchers, this cane would recognize other people’s faces from about 30 feet away. It would also have other neat features, such as GPS.

While it would be nice for me to have a device with facial recognition capabilities, I wouldn’t necessarily want or use my cane for that purpose. I do, however, think that a cane with GPS functions would help.

There is another issue to consider: would the cane be light and portable with all of the technical additions? I think this is certainly doable – after all, cell phones now fit in the palm of our hand! Cost would be the next important area to consider. One of the nice features of the cane is that it is a device most people can afford, and if…

View original post 99 more words

