E6: The Great Guide Dog VS White Cane Debate: My Decision to Get a Leader Dog

Welcome to Episode 6 of the Low Vision Hijinx Podcast, where you get amusing, entertaining & educational stories of living with limited eyesight.

Low Vision Hijinx Podcast Cover

This week’s show is longer than usual, because I’m sharing  some deep thoughts about the great debate among people who are partially or totally blind:

White Cane or Guide Dog?

I have had 2 guide dogs, both of whom I trained myself.

Molly died a year and a half ago, and I just am not happy without a dog. So I decided it was time to apply to a school and get one that was already prepared.

WHile I can and do travel safely with a long white cane, I am simply unhappy without a dog.

This week’s show reveals my own thoughts. Also, if you or someone you know is making this decision, I invite you  or them to contact me. I give the email address on today’s show. You can also contact me on my Facebook Page or LinkedIn or Twitter.

Advantages of a long white cane.

  • It is a lot less expensive than a dog.
  • It’s easy to keep clean.

Advantages of a guide dog

  • Intelligence
  • Can help you avoid dangers a cane can’t warn you about
  • Companionship and comfort
  • Extra set of eyes

Other Considerations about Dogs

If you decide to get a guide dog, you must love dogs and want to do things like:

  • They cost about $700 a year to maintain (food, vet, preventative meds, etc)
  • They require frequent grooming and baths.
  • They shed.
  • Sometimes you’ll have access issues with a place trying to deny your dog

What’s the Best Decision?

The best choice is the one that fits your needs and lifestyle. The decision is yours. Don’t let naysayers in your family detract you if a dog is what you want.

Listen to today’s show for these and other insights. And come back next week for more adventure in low vision living.

Follow your BLISS,

Ronda Del Boccio head shotRonda Del Boccio

# best selling author, speaker and mentor

